Lara KalwinskiView Posts by Contributor

With competition from other charitable options and heightened scrutiny of charities in the media, National Standards set our field—and your community foundation—apart and underscore your commitment to integrity, effectiveness and transparency.
In 2000, a group of respected community foundation practitioners collaborated with the Council on Foundations to establish National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations™. National Standards [...]

Government officials, philanthropists, and foundation staff often discuss the importance of providing services to our veterans and their families. However, we don’t often link the importance of those services to protecting the all voluntary military force. Today’s working lunch emphasized the importance of supporting our volunteers and then did a deeper dive on exactly how [...]

A packed room came to hear how community foundations are successfully listening and responding to their communities. The work we heard about was innovative, sometimes controversial, and completely inspiring.
The National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy (NCRP) facilitated conversation about the work of 12 community foundations from across the country. The community foundations’ were highlighted for their [...]

Welcome to RE: Philanthropy! In this blog, guest and Council bloggers share ideas and insights on the most pressing issues in philanthropy. If you want to contribute, please contact

The opinions expressed in this blog are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of the Council on Foundations.


Courtney Kaezyk
Ralph Fuccillo
Dawn Plimmer
Richard Sussman
Heather Lord
Myrna Deckert, Anita DeFrantz, Amina Dickerson
Heather Peeler
Simon Greer
Thomas H. Davis Jr.
George Stevens
India Pierce Lee
Peter Laughran
Judy Sjostedt
Antony Bugg-Levine
Lance E. Lindblom and Laura Shaffer Campos
Jennifer Ford Reedy
Patricia Maguire
Teri Behrens
Nancy Jones
Novelette Peterkin
Collis Townsend
Patrick Gaston
Jennifer Leonard
Suzanne Skees
Vikki Porter
Nancy Jost
Ira Strumwasser, Ph.D.
Javier Alberto Soto
Diana Campoamor
Joshua Gibb
Philip L. Cochran
Sally Migliore
Josie Burke
Kevin Murphy
Carl Little
Larry Kutner
Suzanne E. Siskel
John Colgan
Brooke Ramsey
Candace Winkler
George McCully
Mary Phillips
Josephine Sinclair
Dewayne Matthews
Zac Russell
Pamela Flaherty
Jeff Hoffman
Doug Balfour
Eileen Speaker
Lori Bertman