Denise SpencerIt’s Only Money, Honey!

By: Denise Spencer In: 2013 Fall Conference| Philanthropy

24 Sep 2013

At the “Trends and Realities” plenary, the panelists all recognized economic issues in their communities as being among those things that kept them up at night.  But my biggest take-away came from Mariam Noland, President of the Community Foundation of Southeast Michigan.  When she noted that “Detroit is bankrupt only in the sense that it has no money,” I was reminded that a lack of money is not a problem of the same magnitude as a lack of creativity, or passion, or culture, or caring, or initiative, or strength of character, or work-ethic.  With many of these other things in place (and an amazing community foundation, of course) the money issue can be improved over time.  Hope can be alive and well in any community if the bankruptcy is only financial.  Thanks, Mariam, for the timely reminder!

Denise K. Spencer is president and CEO of the Community Foundation of the Lowcountry.

Comment Form

Welcome to RE: Philanthropy! In this blog, guest and Council bloggers share ideas and insights on the most pressing issues in philanthropy. If you want to contribute, please contact

The opinions expressed in this blog are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of the Council on Foundations.


Janelle Harris
Michelle Zupan
Steven Waldman
Jeff Stanger
Chet Tchozewski
Lara Kalwinski
Darryl Lester
Kevin Laskowski and Niki Jagpal
Terri Freeman
Leanne Breiby
Alexis Raymond
Mayur Patel
Julia Boyer and Danny Murphy
Mark Hecker
Craig Muska
Ophelia Basgal
Scott Hudson
Ashley Blanchard
Mary Topliff
Jessica del Rosario
Erin Rowley
Curtis Ogden
Susan Hoechstetter
Regine A. Webster
Renee Branch
Leslie Dunford
Rajasvini Bhansali
Marie-Frances Rivera
Anne Sekula
Steve Delfin
Heather Bennett
Allison Sole
Mena Amin
Joan Noricks
Amanda St. Pierre
Jill Nash
Juanita T James
Kim Embretson and Tom McSparron
Kelly Shipp Simone
Tony Macklin
Dori Kreiger
Diana Doyle
Jack A. Calhoun
Malika Harrison
Valerie Batts
Robert Weaver
Jeff Clarke
William Vesneski
Ellen Remmer
Thomas H. Davis Jr.